Monday, January 09, 2006

Relief Coming to the Hall (Part 5)

Here we go again...

Jack Morris -- Morris was a heck of a pitcher. He pitched for a total of 18 years and received Cy Young votes in 1981, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1987, 1991 and 1992. He pitched three teams to the World Series (1984, 1991 and 1992). Morris gets a bad rap because he was aloof and some people considered him difficult. Regardless, his on field achievements qualify him for the HOF.

Dale Murphy -- Why doesn't Dale Murphy get more love? He won the NL MVP award twice and received votes in two other years. He played most of his career with some pretty bad Atlanta Braves teams, yet put up some pretty impressive individual stats. He was a good hitter who hit for power and he could field (5 Gold Gloves). Murphy doesn't get the respect he deserves, and sadly, he's not going to get it here either. I haven't been convinced yet, so thumbs down to Murphy's HOF bid.

Dave Parker -- Parker was one of the most feared hitters in his day. He was the NL MVP in 1978 and received votes for MVP five other times. His fielding has been forgotten over the years, but he won three Gold Gloves in his 19 year career. I'll always remember him as the vice chairman of the "We Are Family" Pirates of the mid to late 70s (Willie Stargell was the chairman). Parker is one of those guys that was really good, but doesn't quite make the cut for the Hall. I'm afraid he won't make the cut again this year.

Jim Rice -- This could be Jim Rice's big year. He's been largely shunned by the HOF voters over the past several years, but this year, things could change. For whatever reason, the voters have had trouble warming up to Rice. But his .298 career batting average, 382 home runs and 1,451 RBI seems to be getting some notice. He was very good for a very long time. In fact, he was the best all around hitter in the AL for twelve coonsecutive years. He was also the AL MVP in 1978 and received MVP votes in five other years. Although it's close, Rice gets my vote.

Lee Smith -- Smith holds the record for the most saves in a career (478). He won the AL or NL Fireman of the Year Award or Rolaids Relief Award in 1983, 1991, 1992, and 1994. Although I think we're going to see some relievers/closers get the love they deserve this year, I don't think Smith is going to make the cut.

Next time, Bruce Sutter, Allen Trammel, Walt Weiss and John Wettland.


Post a Comment

<< Home